timTim Vogels is a Sir Henry Dale Fellow and Associate Professor at the University of Oxford. He studied Physics at Technische Universität Berlin and received a PhD in neuroscience from Brandeis University. After a postdoctoral stay at Columbia University and the EPFL he arrived in Oxford in 2013. He currently leads a research group in Theoretical and Computational Neuroscience at the Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviours (CNCB), part of the Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics (DPAG). Together with Rafal Bogacz, Tim is the co-organizer of the NeuroTheory initiative. Visit his Google Scholar profile, or look at one of his confusingly many other webpages.

Post-doctoral fellows


Chaitanya Chintaluri

I completed my PhD in Biology, from Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology, Warsaw, Poland. I am currently working to curate models of ion channel descriptions. My webpage is

Visit Google Scholar profilegoogle-scholar_98212


I conducted my PhD in Neuroscience at the University of Cape Town. My research now focuses on the analysis and modelling of human neurons derived from induced pluripotent stem cell (hiPSC) cultures and grown on high-density multi-electrode arrays (HD-MEAs).

 Doctoral Students


I study synaptic plasticity. I predict new rules or analyse known ones using Machine Learning tools.

Research Technicians


Panos Bozelos

I am a Molecular Biologist & Geneticist pursuing a PhD in Neuro-Informatics. Interested in Natural Language Processing. Working on various data projects with @TPVogels. Most recent and notable: World Wide Neuro.



Richard Lonsdale

Richard studied mathematics at Oxford University, then completed a PhD in Plasma Physics at U.C.N.W. Bangor. After many years in industry, working on computational fluid dynamics, he is now a visitor at the Vogels lab looking at reinforcement learning in spiking neural networks.


Post-doctoral Fellows

  • Georgia Christodoulou (2017-2021)
  • Everton Agnes (2015-2020)
  • Victor Hernandez-Urbina (2017-2020)
  • Friedemann Zenke (2017 – 2019)google-scholar_98212
  • Rui Ponte Costa (2014 – 2017)google-scholar_98212

Doctoral Students

  • Yayoi Teramoto (2016 – 2019)
  • Bayar Menzat (2015 – 2019)
  • David Jia (2015 – 2019)
  • Bill Podlaski (2014 – 2018)google-scholar_98212
  • Jake Stroud (2015 – 2018)google-scholar_98212

Master Students

  • Homero Esmeraldo
  • Philipp Stratmann
  • Clay Aldern
  • Vadim Koren
  • Jay Bahsin
  • John Mikhael
  • Alex Pantelidis
  • Freddy Trin
  • Maria Rüssler
  • Frida Printzlau
  • Andrea Luppi


  • Andy Petsch
  • Chris Curin
  • Kira Düsterwald
  • Darcy Graham
  • James Bennet
  • Devrim Celik