timTim Vogels is a Sir Henry Dale Fellow and Associate Professor at the University of Oxford. He studied Physics at Technische Universität Berlin and received a PhD in neuroscience from Brandeis University. After a postdoctoral stay at Columbia University and the EPFL he arrived in Oxford in 2013. He currently leads a research group in Theoretical and Computational Neuroscience at the Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviours (CNCB), part of the Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics (DPAG). Together with Rafal Bogacz, Tim is the co-organizer of the NeuroTheory initiative. Visit his Google Scholar profile, or look at one of his confusingly many other webpages.

Post-doctoral fellows

Everton Agnes

Everton Agnes

PhD in Theoretical Physics, UFRGS, Brazil. My research focuses on the theoretical aspects of synaptic plasticity mechanisms, specifically on models that account for the interplay of different synapses in learning.

Visit Google Scholar profilegoogle-scholar_98212


Friedemann Zenke

PhD Computational Neuroscience, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland. I study how synaptic plasticity shapes biologically plausible neural networks to perform computation. My webpage is

Visit Google Scholar profilegoogle-scholar_98212


Chaitanya Chintaluri

I completed my PhD in Biology, from Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology, Warsaw, Poland. I am currently working to curate models of ion channel descriptions. My webpage is

Visit Google Scholar profilegoogle-scholar_98212


Victor Hernandez-Urbina

PhD in Neuroinformatics from the University of Edinburgh. My work in the Vogels Lab focuses around the development of an online visualisation platform based on state-of-the-art web technologies and machine learning.


Georgia Christodoulou

I did my Phd in pure mathematics at the University of Oxford. My research now focuses on recurrent neuronal networks, the relationship between architecture and dynamics and the notion of spatiotemporal memories.

 Doctoral Students


Bayar Menzat

My work focuses on understanding the role of dopaminergic neuromodulation in memory formation using spiking neural networks models. To study learning I introduce modified so-called learning rules, where changes in synaptic strength depends on presynaptic and dopaminergic activity.


Yayoi Teramoto

3rd year PhD student in Neuroscience. I am interested in the relationship between connectivity, plasticity and the emergent dynamics of neural circuits during their time of maturation in early brain development.


Alon Baram

I am a PhD student in the Vogels and Behrens lab. I use computational models and fMRI to investigate the neural substrates underlying the organisation of conceptual knowledge in the human brain.

Marshall Scholarship winner David Jia.

David Jia

PhD student focused on understand signal processing, synaptic plasticity, and signal flow control through computational modelling in spiking networks.

Master Students


Homero Esmeraldo

I study the neural basis of intelligence. More specifically, my research aims to contribute to answer the question of how synaptic plasticity and neuronal network activity in different brain areas underlie abstract reasoning, learning and memory formation.

Research Technicians


Panos Bozelos

Molecular Biologist & Geneticist pursuing a PhD in Neuroinformatics. Working on various data-intensive projects, and I’m loving it.



Richard Lonsdale

Richard studied mathematics at Oxford University, then completed a PhD in Plasma Physics at U.C.N.W. Bangor. After many years in industry, working on computational fluid dynamics, he is now a visitor at the Vogels lab looking at reinforcement learning in spiking neural networks.


Post-doctoral Fellows

  • Rui Ponte Costa (2014 – 2017)google-scholar_98212

Doctoral Students

  • Bill Podlaski (2014 – 2018)google-scholar_98212
  • Jake Stroud (2015 – 2018)google-scholar_98212

Master Students

  • Philipp Stratmann
  • Clay Aldern
  • Vadim Koren
  • Jay Bahsin
  • John Mikhael
  • Alex Pantelidis
  • Freddy Trin
  • Maria Rüssler
  • Frida Printzlau
  • Andrea Luppi


  • Andy Petsch
  • Chris Curin
  • Kira Düsterwald
  • Darcy Graham
  • James Bennet
  • Devrim Celik